President Higgins Opens The Junction

the junction1

The Junction, a new youth and enterprise centre on Macken Street, was officially opened by President Michael D. Higgins.

The opening, which took place in mid-September to much fanfare, aimed to expand the services of the nearby St. Andrew’s Resource Centre who developed the building in a collaborative effort to celebrate its 40th anniversary.

“This is a different type of project that is going to enhance a corner of an area that was derelict,” said Susan Menton, the Overall Project Manager and Developer of St. Andrew’s Resource Centre.
During the planning and building stage of The Junction, St. Andrew’s joined forces with Inner-City Enterprise (I.C.E) in a bid to create a building which acted both as a hub for young people, and as an enterprise spot for local start-ups.

The Enterprise centre, which functions throughout the day, helps people with business plans, access to research to help streamline ideas and offers advice on potential financial avenues. Susan said that in the coming weeks the enterprise centre hopes to launch a number of youth employment initiatives.

The youth café is based upstairs and acts as a central hub for young people to come and hang out and share ideas. Even though the project has been launched, Susan indicated she was “unsure how we’re going to fund the actual running of it but we’ll get there.”

The refurbishment of the building, and creation of The Junction, was funded by a variety of local business and public organisations such as Pobal, State Street Bank, UBS and Dublin City Council, who provided the building. The project was also helped by the enormous generosity of local people and the long list of volunteers who work with St. Andrew’s and I.C.E.

Above: President Michael D. Higgins cuts the ribbon.
Pictured left, from left to right, back row: Noel Watson, Louisa Murray, Nina Buckley, Carmel Walshe, Danielle Doolin, Eileen Nalty, Orla Cullen, Susan Menton, Emma Wilton, Josephine Brennan, Lisa Kellagher. Front row: Scobie Larkin, Debbie Moore, Danielle Larkin, Edward Fitzpatrick, Donal O’Callaghan.

By Liam Cahill