De Valera Volume 2 Rule 1932-1975

By David Prendeville This exhaustively-researched book covers Éamon De Valera’s life from 1932 to 1975. It follows on from author David McCullagh’s first volume, which covered De Valera from 1882 to 1932. The book is rich in detail and paints […]

Read more

Celebrating the Suffragettes

By Eoin Meegan This year marks the one-hundredth anniversary of women winning the right to vote, an event that has rightly been widely celebrated. To understand how this came about, however, we have to go back to the nineteenth century. […]

Read more

Remembering the Leinster

  By Eoin Meegan This year sees the centenary of the sinking of RMS Leinster, a combined passenger and mail sorting ship that was fatally struck by a torpedo on October 10th 1918. Eclipsed, perhaps, by other events at the […]

Read more