Sandymount clean up at the Irish Hockey Association Awards

IHA Awards

Sandymount’s very own Railway Union Hockey Club saw three of its players recognised for their sporting achievements at the Irish Hockey Awards on the 21st of March.

Emma Smyth received the women’s Electric Ireland International Player of the Year award, Kate Dillon was named the Irish Club Player of the Year, and Alex Speers was awarded her 150th cap for Ireland. The event, which took place in the Stillorgan Park Hotel, had an attendance of 200.

One of Ireland’s oldest hockey clubs, Railway Union HC celebrates its 110th birthday this year. The club is clearly still going strong, as they won the Electric Ireland Irish Hockey League’s 2011/12 season with a 1-0 victory over Loreto Hockey Club – the second time they had claimed the title in four years. Each of their three award winners is also currently serving on the Irish international squad, including Irish team captain Alex Speers.

Pictured left to right: Kate Dillon (Electric Ireland Irish Club Player of the Year), Alex Speers (150th cap for Ireland) and Emma Smyth (Electric Ireland Internation Player of the Year).
By Aimée MacLeod