East Link Bridge renamed by President Higgins

President Higgins renames the East Link bridge this morning.'

President Higgins unveils the ‘Tom Clarke bridge, accompanied by Lord Mayor Críona Ní Dhálaigh.’

The East Link Bridge has now been officially renamed the ‘Tom Clarke Bridge.’

President Michael D. Higgins has officially renamed the East Link bridge this morning in a special ceremony to commemorate one of the signatories of the 1916 Proclamation. Tom Clarke was the first signatory and today marks the 100th anniversary of his execution.

President Higgins at Tom Clarke unveiling

Accompanied by his wife Sabina, President Higgins gave a speech about Tom Clarke, his life and his contribution to the 1916 Rising in particular. He remarked that he was, “delighted that there are so many members of the community here, the Clarke family, and the Tom Clarke memorial committee.

“For 32 years this bridge has served Dublin well. It is greatly apt that a structure so strong and symbolic of unity and connection be named after the committed and inspirational Tom Clarke.”


Helen Little (pictured above), the Grand-Niece of Tom Clarke, was also present at the ceremony and also contributed to the ceremony by giving a speech. Little particularly noted that, “we need to look to the Proclamation to discover what the signatories would have wished for the Ireland of today.”


President Higgins was met by members of St Patrick’s Rowing club of Ringsend, and his wife was presented with a bouquet of flowers from members of the club. The couple were then offered refreshments in Ringsend and Irishtown Community Centre.

The East Link bridge opened in 1984 and has reverted to Dublin City Council control since the beginning of this year. That name will now be consigned to history and the name of Tom Clarke will now be evoked on the opening bridge of the Liffey from this day onwards.


By Ferg Hayden

Pictures by Maria Shields O’Kelly